What I learnt building my first full stack app 
  (an Instagram clone)

What I learnt building my first full stack app (an Instagram clone)

Learnt the basics of react and mongo db about a year ago but I couldn't confidently call myself a full stack developer. But after several suggestions from my mentors ( all of tech twitter )

Decided to build something and I chose a functional social media app ( I felt a todo list was beneath me 😂🤣).

Fast forward 6 months after making this decision I did it and here is what I learnt

  1. Start small ( building a large scale app was back breaking) but challenge yourself
  2. Understand the fundamentals of what you use ( I found out that I didn't really understand some of the technologies I was using )
  3. Google is your best friend as a web developer ( my knowledge gap was filled by search results )
  4. Set a realistic goal for every project ( I wanted to finish the project in 1 month 🤣🤣 )
  5. Appreciate your little beginnings.
  6. Read the docs they are there to guide you ( shout out to those who wrote the React, Node js, Express js, Mongo db and mongoose documentations )
  7. Be part of a community, it would help you out.

well the app is live at My instagram clone .

I would love to hear your experiences through the comments